Honoring India’s Heroes: Unveiling of Islands Named after Param Vir Chakra Awardees

2 min read

The 21 largest unnamed islands of the Andaman and Nicobar Islands will be named after India’s 21 Param Vir Chakra awardees next week in a ceremony that will be attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi via video conferencing, as announced by the PMO on Saturday.

On 23 January, which is observed as Parakram Diwas, PM Modi will participate in a program where he will unveil the model of the National Memorial dedicated to Netaji to be built on Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Dweep.

The Modi government is initiating India’s Republic Day celebrations on January 23 with a series of events and activities planned for the next week.

The largest unnamed island will be named after India’s first Param Vir Chakra awardee, Major Somnath Sharma, who received the award posthumously in 1950 for his actions in defending the Srinagar airport from Pakistani raiders in 1947.

Other islands will be named after the remaining 20 PVC awardees, including Subedar and Hony Captain (then Lance Naik) Karam Singh, 2nd Lt Rama Raghoba Rane, Naik Jadunath Singh, Company Havildar Major Piru Singh, Capt GS Salaria, Lieutenant Colonel (then Major) Dhan Singh Thapa, Subedar Joginder Singh, Major Shaitan Singh, Lance Naik Albert Ekka, and other PVC awardees.

In a statement, the PMO said, “This step will be an everlasting tribute to our heroes, several of whom had made the ultimate sacrifice to protect the sovereignty and integrity of the nation.”

You May Also Like

More From Author

+ There are no comments

Add yours