Unveiling the New Indian Navy Ensign: A Symbol of Independence and Strength

2 min read

The Indian Navy’s new flag was unveiled by Prime Minister Narendra Modi in Kochi on Friday, during the commissioning of INS Vikrant, the country’s first Indigenous Aircraft Carrier (IAC-1).

To break away from the “colonial past”, the new Indian Navy flag no longer includes the Saint George’s Cross. Instead, it features the national emblem with the Tricolour in the upper canton. The national emblem is enclosed by an octagonal shield and is positioned above an anchor, with the Navy’s motto ‘Sam No Varunah’ below.

Here’s all you need to know about the new Ensign ⬇️
— SpokespersonNavy (@indiannavy)

The golden border around the national emblem is inspired by the seal of Indian emperor Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj and represents steadfastness. The octagonal shape of the national emblem symbolizes eight directions, reflecting the multi-directional reach and multi-dimensional operational capability of the Indian Navy.

The new ensign replaces the pre-Independence ensign of the Indian Navy, which featured the Saint George’s Cross on a white background with the Tricolour in the canton.

The previous ensign included the Saint George’s Cross and followed the pre-Independence ensign, which had the red Cross on a white background with the Union Jack of the United Kingdom in the top left corner.

You May Also Like

More From Author

+ There are no comments

Add yours